“girlfriend”

I always liked how he said the word “girlfriend”,

i’d feel lucky to have gained his title, feeling proud amongst all the women who did not.

But now the word “girlfriend” rings in my ears,

I wince at the thought of you recycling this word,    my word.

The thought of another girl feeling warm and wanted by you, nestled in the comforting the balance of the earth-descending ‘g’ and the sky-reaching ‘d’ as you forget what meaning it ever had for me.

You decide she truly fits the definition of girlfriend, of how you’d wasted it on me-

and just like that, the word and it’s meaning changes-

although the way you say it never does

Leave a Reply

