An anchor for you

I can change our definition in an instant,
from two years of loving – to nothing.
What’s worse is you’ll accept this new definition at once
picking up the reigns of what I hand you,
you don’t fight it
which makes it feel as if it were never as lovely to you as it were to me.
Whilst I struggle to comprehend how the renaming of something can constitute the thing itself,
how you can so heartlessly do me the disservice of being fine in the face of this, I realise
we were never a team, really
you were always sailing ahead
whilst I anchored you down and consumed, for you, the impact of the tides

-god I hope you don’t anchor another

Leave a Reply

